leavenworthtimes.com http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20121226/OPINION/121229514/0/celebrity%20news leavenworthtimes.com delivers up-to-the-minute news and information on the latest top stories, weather, entertainment, politics and more. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 02:56:22 +0000 Granlund cartoon: George W. Bush, artist http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140418/NEWS/140419192/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Fri, 18 Apr 2014 13:59:03 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140418/NEWS/140419192/0/celebrity news Granlund cartoon: Russia and Ukraine http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140418/NEWS/140419221/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:46:00 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140418/NEWS/140419221/0/celebrity news Dave Granlund cartoon on Russia and Ukraine.

]]>
Matthew T. Mangino: Prosecutors face off in public quarrels http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140418/NEWS/140419433/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Fri, 18 Apr 2014 01:01:00 +0000 By Matthew T. Mangino More Content Now http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140418/NEWS/140419433/0/celebrity news Recently, Manhattan U.S. Attorney Preet Bharara challenged New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo's decision to dismantle a commission examining public corruption and said his [...]]]> Mark L. Hopkins: Moving on with ‘Obamacare’ http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140418/NEWS/140419555/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Fri, 18 Apr 2014 01:01:00 +0000 By Mark L. Hopkins More Content Now http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140418/NEWS/140419555/0/celebrity news Later, when we were deciding on a language for our country, the choices came down to German and English. Though the matter was tabled and no vote was actually taken in Congress, there was strong support for making our official language German. (At that [...]]]> Insight Kansas: Abolition of teacher tenure out of place in Kansas http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419312/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:26:49 +0000 By MICHAEL A. SMITH Insight Kansas http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419312/0/celebrity news Challenging tenure and the unions that defend it has been the subject of academic research, recent books, popular films like "Freedom Writers" and "Waiting for Superman," and advocacy from nonprofit groups, including the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and Kansas City's Kaufman Foundation.
Unfortunately, the Kansas Legislature is doing it all wrong.]]>
Frugal Family: Creativity, not currency, key to Easter savings http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419315/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:22:22 +0000 By Stephanie Harvie Eaton Frugal Family http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419315/0/celebrity news For those who do not have the money to spend on your children for the Easter holiday, there are a few simple tips on how you can save money.]]> Down Home columnist: Each day is a battle, but Easter, faith give me hope http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419316/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:18:14 +0000 By SANDY TURNER Down Home http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419316/0/celebrity news Two thousand years is a long time to hold onto a faith in someone you didn't get to see firsthand.]]> Kent Bush: Accident paves way for fun http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/OPINION/140419353/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Thu, 17 Apr 2014 08:15:00 +0000 Kent Bush http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/OPINION/140419353/0/celebrity news Granlund cartoon: Distracted driver awareness http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140416/NEWS/140419403/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Wed, 16 Apr 2014 15:23:50 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140416/NEWS/140419403/0/celebrity news Pet Talk: First aid capability and knowledge can save pets' lives http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/OPINION/140419465/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:21:23 +0000 Anne Divine http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/OPINION/140419465/0/celebrity news Letter: Better behavior, speech needed at levels of politics http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419498/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:49:25 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419498/0/celebrity news To the editor:
The tragic shootings at two Jewish community sites Sunday remind us once again there is a price to be paid for hateful talk and actions.
This is a lesson the entire U.S. political system, from local to state to national, should take to heart.
As we begin the 2014 election cycle here in Leavenworth County, let me issue a public plea to all concerned that we conduct this election without the bitter, hateful attacks that have been so common in [...]]]>
Letter: Tax reform necessary, vital for U.S. http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419499/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:44:10 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419499/0/celebrity news To the editor:
April is tax month. By the 15th, taxpayers are to submit their annual returns to the Internal Revenue Service and the state revenue department.
This yearly task imposes an enormous burden on our local small businesses and families, including our military men and women. The burden shouldn’t be measured only by the amount taxpayers pay to the government, but also by the dozens of hours and hundreds of dollars we spend each year to decipher our [...]]]>
Portraits of the Past: Bill Massie and Wild Bill's bullet http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419500/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:38:53 +0000 By Ted W. Stillwell Portraits of the Past  http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419500/0/celebrity news When Bill was old enough, he went to work aboard a side-wheeler named the El Paso. Massie was a sharp kid and quick learner, and by 21 he became the pilot.
By 1853, he was taking the El Paso into uncharted waters along the Missouri and Platte rivers.]]>
Granlund cartoon: How tax assessors view your home http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419502/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:31:04 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419502/0/celebrity news Granlund cartoon: Boston Marathon 2014 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419533/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Tue, 15 Apr 2014 11:43:29 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419533/0/celebrity news Kent Bush: Brownback's delay buys time http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/OPINION/140419581/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Tue, 15 Apr 2014 07:15:00 +0000 Kent Bush http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/OPINION/140419581/0/celebrity news Letter: Leavenworth clinic, state rep deserve thanks for serving underserved http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419630/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:31:29 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419630/0/celebrity news To the editor:
Most of us take for granted that when we get sick, we go to the doctor. We don’t give it a second thought.
There are many people in Leavenworth, however, who don’t take this for granted. In fact, they worry about getting sick and not being able to afford the cost of a doctor’s visit, and the cost of missing work to seek the care they need.
Or, they’ve been laid off from their jobs so don’t have health insurance [...]]]>
Letter: Appreciative of columnist's positive comments http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419631/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:23:32 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419631/0/celebrity news To the editor:
In the April 8 Leavenworth Times, Matt Nowak’s column caught my eye, and as I began to read it, I realized he was writing about a thrift store I have a connection to.
My wife, Sherry, and I operate the Kansas Country Store and the HOPE spay and neuter clinic is a low-cost clinic we built inside our store building.
Nowak was absolutely right about the old recycling business that used to be on the corner of Broadway and Shawnee. It had used [...]]]>
LV Times columnist: Environmental assessment of river operations a positive step http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419636/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:07:12 +0000 By MATTHEW NOWAK Leavenworth Times columnist http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419636/0/celebrity news This is a good thing for those who love the Kansas River, those who pay taxes for infrastructure like bridges, and for farm land adjacent to the river near those locations where dredging presently occurs.]]> Congresswoman: Putting America on a 'Path to Prosperity' http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419637/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:01:46 +0000 By LYNN JENKINS Congresswoman, Kansas Second District http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419637/0/celebrity news Our Democrat friends believe the best way to move the country forward is with $1.8 trillion in new taxes, increased spending, and to reduce our military to its smallest size in decades.
Along with all our federal agencies, I too believe we need to look for savings at the Pentagon, but the level of cuts they are talking about to our forces while growing virtually every other segment of government seems [...]]]>
leavenworthtimes.com http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20121226/OPINION/121229514/0/celebrity%20news leavenworthtimes.com delivers up-to-the-minute news and information on the latest top stories, weather, entertainment, politics and more. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 02:56:22 +0000 leavenworthtimes.com http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20121226/OPINION/121229514/0/celebrity%20news leavenworthtimes.com delivers up-to-the-minute news and information on the latest top stories, weather, entertainment, politics and more. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 02:56:23 +0000 Insight Kansas: Abolition of teacher tenure out of place in Kansas http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419312/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:26:49 +0000 By MICHAEL A. SMITH Insight Kansas http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419312/0/celebrity news Challenging tenure and the unions that defend it has been the subject of academic research, recent books, popular films like "Freedom Writers" and "Waiting for Superman," and advocacy from nonprofit groups, including the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and Kansas City's Kaufman Foundation.
Unfortunately, the Kansas Legislature is doing it all wrong.]]>
Frugal Family: Creativity, not currency, key to Easter savings http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419315/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:22:22 +0000 By Stephanie Harvie Eaton Frugal Family http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419315/0/celebrity news For those who do not have the money to spend on your children for the Easter holiday, there are a few simple tips on how you can save money.]]> Down Home columnist: Each day is a battle, but Easter, faith give me hope http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419316/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:18:14 +0000 By SANDY TURNER Down Home http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140417/NEWS/140419316/0/celebrity news Two thousand years is a long time to hold onto a faith in someone you didn't get to see firsthand.]]> Letter: Better behavior, speech needed at levels of politics http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419498/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:49:25 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419498/0/celebrity news To the editor:
The tragic shootings at two Jewish community sites Sunday remind us once again there is a price to be paid for hateful talk and actions.
This is a lesson the entire U.S. political system, from local to state to national, should take to heart.
As we begin the 2014 election cycle here in Leavenworth County, let me issue a public plea to all concerned that we conduct this election without the bitter, hateful attacks that have been so common in [...]]]>
Letter: Tax reform necessary, vital for U.S. http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419499/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:44:10 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419499/0/celebrity news To the editor:
April is tax month. By the 15th, taxpayers are to submit their annual returns to the Internal Revenue Service and the state revenue department.
This yearly task imposes an enormous burden on our local small businesses and families, including our military men and women. The burden shouldn’t be measured only by the amount taxpayers pay to the government, but also by the dozens of hours and hundreds of dollars we spend each year to decipher our [...]]]>
Portraits of the Past: Bill Massie and Wild Bill's bullet http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419500/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:38:53 +0000 By Ted W. Stillwell Portraits of the Past  http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140415/NEWS/140419500/0/celebrity news When Bill was old enough, he went to work aboard a side-wheeler named the El Paso. Massie was a sharp kid and quick learner, and by 21 he became the pilot.
By 1853, he was taking the El Paso into uncharted waters along the Missouri and Platte rivers.]]>
Letter: Leavenworth clinic, state rep deserve thanks for serving underserved http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419630/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:31:29 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419630/0/celebrity news To the editor:
Most of us take for granted that when we get sick, we go to the doctor. We don’t give it a second thought.
There are many people in Leavenworth, however, who don’t take this for granted. In fact, they worry about getting sick and not being able to afford the cost of a doctor’s visit, and the cost of missing work to seek the care they need.
Or, they’ve been laid off from their jobs so don’t have health insurance [...]]]>
Letter: Appreciative of columnist's positive comments http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419631/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:23:32 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419631/0/celebrity news To the editor:
In the April 8 Leavenworth Times, Matt Nowak’s column caught my eye, and as I began to read it, I realized he was writing about a thrift store I have a connection to.
My wife, Sherry, and I operate the Kansas Country Store and the HOPE spay and neuter clinic is a low-cost clinic we built inside our store building.
Nowak was absolutely right about the old recycling business that used to be on the corner of Broadway and Shawnee. It had used [...]]]>
LV Times columnist: Environmental assessment of river operations a positive step http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419636/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:07:12 +0000 By MATTHEW NOWAK Leavenworth Times columnist http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419636/0/celebrity news This is a good thing for those who love the Kansas River, those who pay taxes for infrastructure like bridges, and for farm land adjacent to the river near those locations where dredging presently occurs.]]> Congresswoman: Putting America on a 'Path to Prosperity' http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419637/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:01:46 +0000 By LYNN JENKINS Congresswoman, Kansas Second District http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419637/0/celebrity news Our Democrat friends believe the best way to move the country forward is with $1.8 trillion in new taxes, increased spending, and to reduce our military to its smallest size in decades.
Along with all our federal agencies, I too believe we need to look for savings at the Pentagon, but the level of cuts they are talking about to our forces while growing virtually every other segment of government seems [...]]]>
Guest column: Considering money's fit in free speech http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419667/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Mon, 14 Apr 2014 13:12:40 +0000 By RONALD BANKS Leavenworth Times guest column http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419667/0/celebrity news There were a dozen amendments voted on in 1791, and the first two did not pass. The third one voted on passed as our first in the Bill in Rights.
President John Adams gave us one of the first uncontested legislation, after winning the trifecta of our new government bodies and appointing most, if not all, federal judges. This was the Sedition Act of 1798, a law that criminalized criticism of the executive or [...]]]>
Letter: Amazing support from Lansing community http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419668/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Mon, 14 Apr 2014 13:07:54 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140414/NEWS/140419668/0/celebrity news To the editor:
On March 11 of this year, my wife, Kathy, died after a short hospice at home and a two-year fight against ovarian cancer. We moved here in 2001 to start a new job and life, with a 9-year-old daughter and 4-year-old son. Having lived here before, we knew the kind of community this was, and that we would gladly raise our kids here.
Over the years, Kathy worked as a substitute teacher in the Lansing School District, and her students remember [...]]]>
Column: Ties connecting Fort Leavenworth, Civil War http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140411/NEWS/140419767/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:31:46 +0000 By JOHN REICHLEY Leavenworth Times columnist http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140411/NEWS/140419767/0/celebrity news I don't expect them to all be the same, but I do expect that a very important date in history would be on all of them.
Not so.]]>
Guest column: My five cents on Buffalo Bill Days 2014 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140411/NEWS/140419769/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:20:01 +0000 By CHRISTINE (CRICKET) PUGH Leavenworth Times guest column http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140411/NEWS/140419769/0/celebrity news Last year, a group of local residents got together and decided to organize the festival. The decision was made after the local Main Street program voted not to organize a festival in 2013.
What at first seemed like an enormous undertaking soon turned into a labor of love.]]>
Letter: Special thanks to all who made Leavenworth event possible http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140411/NEWS/140419775/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:00:14 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140411/NEWS/140419775/0/celebrity news To the editor:
On behalf of the Rotary Club of Leavenworth, I would like to say thanks for the wonderful support of our 34th annual Irish Stew Dinner/Silent Auction event last month.
The event was very successful thanks to many folks throughout the community.
First, thanks to the Leavenworth Times for publishing the Q5 article the week before the event and to the local area businesses that helped advertise this event. Without all of this continued [...]]]>
Letter: What exactly happened last weekend in Topeka with legislature? http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140411/NEWS/140419776/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Fri, 11 Apr 2014 14:53:20 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140411/NEWS/140419776/0/celebrity news To the editor:
The informal timeline that follows is only a glimpse at the performance played out in our legislature last weekend. It does not tell the background story of the intense lobbying, arm twisting for votes, and promises or threats made to legislators by well-funded organizations.
Nor does it express the profound realization of many that public education has suffered a tremendous blow to put it alongside Kansans' judicial and health systems.
Letter: Wading into letter crossfire http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140411/NEWS/140419793/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Fri, 11 Apr 2014 13:23:24 +0000 http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140411/NEWS/140419793/0/celebrity news To the editor:
I must first admit to being a Christian, who is a registered independent, with libertarian tendencies. Yes, this is a thing, because I say it is. I have decided to dive into a flurry of letters between Ruth Heflin and someone she identifies as a Christian conservative.
I find Heflin’s latest letter to the editor interesting and dismaying for a number of reasons. First, it is interesting in its display of the very characteristics she accuses [...]]]>
Down Home: A good nights' sleep and two pounds lighter http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140410/NEWS/140419909/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:37:48 +0000 By SANDY TURNER Down Home http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140410/NEWS/140419909/0/celebrity news Everything you need to be healthy as a horse can now be achieved with a pill.
I heard it for myself on talk radio, so it must be true.]]>
Insight Kansas: Criticizing the governor's 'Ministry of Truth' http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140410/NEWS/140419917/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:13:08 +0000 By H. Edward Flentje Insight Kansas http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140410/NEWS/140419917/0/celebrity news Their work brings to mind the Ministry of Truth in George Orwell's novel, "1984."
Orwell's ministry governs truth on behalf of the state and frequently revises history by doctoring the data. Up might mean down. Black might become white. Two plus three may be required to equal four.]]>
Frugal Family: Downtown Leavenworth shops ideal for bargain treasures http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140410/NEWS/140419921/0/celebrity news?rssfeed=true Thu, 10 Apr 2014 10:50:10 +0000 By STEPHANIE EATON HARVIE Frugal Family http://www.leavenworthtimes.com/article/20140410/NEWS/140419921/0/celebrity news With countless moves and small children, my furniture was not looking its best.
I have been on the hunt for new furniture, but I do not have the budget for expensive items, and really do not want to purchase pre-fab wood.]]>