After perfect season, Leavenworth’s Nathan Butler receives National Wrestling Coaches Association's top state honor

One of the most decorated wrestlers in Leavenworth school history continues to rack up the honors.

On Tuesday, Nathan Butler was recognized as the 2012-13 “Kansas Wrestler of the Year” by the National Wrestling Coaches Association.

He becomes the third Leavenworth grappler to receive the honor, joining Aaron Ely (2006-07) and Shawn Bunch (2000-01).

The Pioneer was also nominated for the “Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award”, which is a national accolade given to a high school senior who has demonstrated outstanding wrestling success, scholastic achievement, character, citizenship and community service.

This past season, Butler capped off a perfect 44-0 season by winning the Class 5A state crown in the 285-pound division, the third title of his career.

In doing so, he helped Leavenworth place 13th overall at this year's state competition.

Butler, who will wrestle for Stanford University next year, holds multiple LV records including most wins in a season, most pin wins in a season and most pin wins in a career.