The Leavenworth Times - Leavenworth, KS
by Garon Cockrell
BOOM! Studios wins Eisner Award for "Best Publication: "Adventure Time"
email print
About this blog
By Garon Cockrell
Recent Posts
July 29, 2013 5:10 p.m.

The 25th Annual Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards (“The Eisners”) were held last week at Comic-Con International in San Diego, Calif., showcasing the best in comics published in 2012 and BOOM! Studios is proud to announce ADVENTURE TIME was honored with the award for Best Publication for Kids (Ages 8-12).
This is the second straight year that BOOM! has won the Best Publication for Kids (Ages 8-12) category. BOOM! also won in 2012 for SNARKED, the first year the category was added to the Eisners. Previously, the category was Best Title for Younger Readers/Best Comics Publication for a Younger Audience and was split in 2008 into Best Publication for Kids and Best Publication for Teens. Then in 2012, Best Publication for Kids was split again into Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 7) and Best Publication for Kids (ages 8-12). BOOM! Studios is proud to be on the forefront of the growing all-ages market as The Eisners continue to expand the number of categories, highlighting quality comics for younger readers.
Only three other licensed properties have been honored with an Eisner Award in the 25-year history of the awards. The most recent was Gumby in 2007 in the Best Title for Younger Readers/Best Comics Publication for a Younger Audience category.
ADVENTURE TIME, written by Ryan North (DINOSAUR COMICS) and drawn by Shelli Paroline and Braden Lamb (ICE AGE) is a monthly comic series based on the top-rated Cartoon Network animated series of the same name.
"I'm so incredibly proud of my team on this book...we put so much love into Adventure Time every month, it's great that the readers can see it!,” says Shannon Watters, Senior Editor at BOOM! Studios.
The Eisners, named for renowned cartoonist Will Eisner (creator of THE SPIRIT and numerous award-winning graphic novels), are widely considered the highest honor in the comic book industry. The finalists on the ballot are selected by a blue-ribbon committee that considers thousands of entries submitted by publishers and creators. The nominees are then voted on by all parts of the comic book industry: writers, artists, and other creators; publishers; editors; and retailers and distributors.
About BOOM! Studios
Founded by Ross Richie in 2005, Diamond Gem Award-winning "Best Publisher" BOOM! Studios (boom-studios.com) generates a constellation of best-selling Eisner and Harvey Award-winning original and licensed comic books and graphic novels with the industry's top talent. BOOM! Studios is the home of Mike Carey's SUICIDE RISK, Clive Barker’s NEXT TESTAMENT and HELLRAISER, Paul Jenkins and Humberto Ramos' FAIRY QUEST, PLANET OF THE APES, Max Bemis' POLARITY and Mark Waid’s IRREDEEMABLE. Steven Grant's graphic novel 2 GUNS will be released as a feature film from Universal Pictures onAugust 2nd, starring Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. BOOM!'s all-ages imprint KaBOOM! publishes Charles Schulz' PEANUTS, Jim Davis’ GARFIELD, Cartoon Network's ADVENTURE TIME and REGULAR SHOW, Mike Kunkel's HEROBEAR AND THE KID, and Roger Langridge’s Eisner Award-winning SNARKED. In June 2013, BOOM! acquired niche publisher Archaia Entertainment (archaia.com), which was founded in 2002 by Mark Smylie. Archaia is the Eisner and Harvey Award-winning graphic novel publisher of MOUSE GUARD, COW BOY, GUNNERKRIGG COURT, RUST, SPERA, JIM HENSON’S TALE OF SAND, RETURN OF THE DAPPER MEN, and other great titles.

Comment or View Comments »
Recent Posts
    Terms of Service

    latest blogs

    • Community
    • National

  • Financial Advice from Jim Cramer
  • Read More
  • Events Calendar