The University of St. Mary men's cross country team won the KCAC Championship for the first time in history and secured a spot in the NAIA Cross Country Championships.
The KCAC race was stacked with 10 great teams. The men's race was led by Brooks Ballou, who won the race overall.
Right behind Ballou was Garrett Colglazier, who placed third, and Josh Whittaker who placed fifth.
Ballou has had an unbelievable year, and is peaking at the perfect time. He was running 120 miles a week, and goes above and beyond with all of the small things he does outside of practice.
He has been a great leader and captain for our men's team, and has helped create a special bond between all of our guys.
He will be leading our team in two weeks at the National Championships and I couldn't ask for a better team captain.
Colglazier and Whittaker played a huge part in our victory.
They really stepped up to the occasion and ran tougher than they have all season.
The men stuck to the plan and ran their hearts out.
All of our training was geared for Saturday, and the team could not have ran any better at the most important race of the season.
They are a great group of guys and have become very close as teammates.
They each ran as a team and for each other, which led them to this conference win, and I am so proud of what they did. It was a special day.
The women placed sixth out of 10 teams. They were led by Ana Gomboa, who placed second overall, and secured a spot to the NAIA Cross Country Championships.
The women ran tough on Saturday. Ana Gomboa has put us on the map with her stellar performances this year, and I'm excited to see her race at Nationals in two weeks.
Amy Jystad brought a lot of leadership this season and was a great mentor for our women's team.
Kristina Purinton and Remy Crouch really stepped it up. We have made big improvements this year and will be returning the whole team next year.
I expect great things from them next year.

Men's Team

Brooks Ballou: 1st place, 25:28, first team All-KCAC.
Garrett Colglazier: 3rd place, 25:50, first team All-KCAC.
Josh Whittaker: 5th place, 25:57, first team All-KCAC.
Russell Brown: 15th place, 27:00, second team All-KCAC.
Aaron Potter: 17th place, 27:06, KCAC Champion of Character Award.
Ricardo Cortez: 25th place, 27:51.
Jacob Sherman: 27th place, 27:57.

Women's Team

Ana Gomboa: 2nd place, first team All-KCAC, National Qualifier.
Amy Jystad: 17th place, 20:26, KCAC Champion of Charter Award.
Samantha Winter: 26th place, 21:03.
Remy Crouch: 45th place, 22:22.
Kristina Purinton: 47th place, 22:32.
Mandy Ballou: 49th place, 22:42.
Lindee Claire: 75th place, 25:46.