January has been proclaimed as School Board Recognition Month in Kansas.

January has been proclaimed as School Board Recognition Month in Kansas.
The theme of this year’s annual recognition is “Together, We Achieve.”
The seven members of the Leavenworth School Board establish a vision for the school district, working with staff and members of the community to achieve that vision.

“It takes a special individual willing to serve on a school board,” Interim Superintendent Bret Church said. “In Leavenworth, we are fortunate to have a board that takes their role extremely seriously and is dedicated to the continuous improvement of our school district.

“We rely on them to make informed decisions that they feel best serve the needs of our students and staff. I am extremely grateful for their service to the community and for their ongoing focus on moving our district forward in a positive direction.”
While officially elected by their local community, school board members are unpaid, voluntary positions of civic service that serve in staggered four-year terms.
Leavenworth’s School Board, and the hundreds like it across the state, provides local control for public schools, developing policies and making decisions that create opportunities for all children to succeed.

Board members sacrifice countless hours each year attending meetings, serving on committees, reviewing reports and information, communicating with patrons, and advocating on behalf of the district’s students and school communities.
Members of the Leavenworth School Board and their years of service to the district are:

Mike Carney — July 2013-June 2017 and July 2001-June 2005Vice president Marti Crow  — July 2011-June 2015 and July 1983-June 1995Doug Darling — July 2013-June 2017, July 2003-June 2007 and July 1995-June 1999Dr. Paul Kittle — July 2011-June 2015President Nancy Klemp — July 2009-June 2015Verna Raines — July 2012-June 2017Loyal Torkelson — July 2003-June 2015Please join Leavenworth Public Schools in thanking the men and women of the Leavenworth School Board for their leadership and continued service to the Leavenworth community.

— Submitted by USD 453