One incumbent re-elected

Two new members will be joining the Leavenworth City Commission, and an incumbent will be returning for another term.

Voters in Tuesday’s election elected newcomers Jermaine Wilson and Myron “Mike” Griswold to the commission. And they re-elected Mark Preisinger to the commission.

Two other incumbents, Lisa Weakley and Charles Raney, were unsuccessful in their bids for re-election.

A total of six candidates were vying for three at-large seats on the commission.

Wilson, a community activist who established the Unity in the Community program, came in first with 1,313 votes, according to unofficial results.

The results will remain unofficial until county commissioners canvass the votes Monday.

“It’s been extremely exciting,” Wilson said after the results were in Tuesday.

As a commissioner, Wilson is looking forward to bringing the community together and working to reduce crime.

Griswold came in second with 1,217 votes.

“I’m very, very excited,” Griswold said.

Griswold said he appreciates the people who supported him.

Griswold said he would like for the commission to develop a unifying, achievable, forward-looking vision.

He currently serves as the president of the Fort Leavenworth Board of Education, which is an appointed position. He plans to remain on the fort’s school board while serving on the City Commission.

Preisinger, who currently serves as Leavenworth’s mayor pro-tem, finished third with 1,044 votes, according to the unofficial results.

Preisinger said he is appreciative that voters elected him to another term on the commission.

Preisinger said he looks forward to working with Wilson and Griswold. Preisinger said he is looking forward to working on major street projects and other infrastructure issues.

By finishing first and second in the race, Wilson and Griswold were elected to four-year terms. As the third-place finisher, Preisinger will serve a two-year term on the commission.

They will begin their terms in January, according to County Clerk Janet Klasinski.

Michael Bogner also was in the race for City Commission. He received 933 votes. Weakley received 907 votes, and Raney received 859 votes.

Two other current commissioners, Nancy Bauder and Larry Dedeke, did not face re-election this year.

Twitter: @LVTNewsJohnR