Leavenworth County saw a nearly 27 percent voter turnout for Tuesday’s primary election.

Leavenworth County saw a nearly 27 percent voter turnout for Tuesday’s primary election.

This exceeded the expectations of County Clerk Janet Klasinski, who had predicted only a 20 percent turnout.

“I think statewide it exceeded what is normally the turnout for a gubernatorial primary,” said Klasinski, who is the chief election officer for Leavenworth County.

She believes social media played in a role in the higher than expected turnout by increasing awareness about the primary.

According to information from the Clerk’s Office, 11,504 people voted in the primary, which is a 26.7 percent turnout.

“We will add to that number,” Klasinski said.

Klasinski said there are 194 provisional ballots in the county that have not been counted. However, she does not believe additional votes from provisional ballots will change the outcome of any of the county’s local races.

Klasinski also said her office may receive additional advance ballots in the mail. She said her office will continue to accept advance ballots received through the mail through Friday as long as they are postmarked with Tuesday’s date.

She said her office received about 50 advance ballots in the mail Wednesday.

In the Republican primary for the state’s 2nd Congressional District, Steve Fitzgerald, a state senator from Leavenworth, won in Leavenworth County. But Steve Watkins finished first overall in the district, according to results posted on the Kansas secretary of state’s website.

In the Republican primary for governor, Kris Kobach won in Leavenworth County.

Kobach, who currently serves as Kansas secretary of state, holds a slim lead in the statewide vote count. But with thousands of provisional ballots statewide and a possible recount, the race was still considered too close to call Wednesday.

Laura Kelly won the Democratic primary for governor in Leavenworth County and statewide. Kelly is a state senator from Topeka.

Final vote totals in the Republican primary for the 38th District of the Kansas House of Representatives were unavailable Tuesday night because of problems experienced in Johnson County.

The 38th District includes the cities of Basehor and Linwood in Leavenworth County and also extends into Johnson County.

But vote totals on Wednesday showed that incumbent state Rep. Willie Dove, rural Bonner Springs, won the primary. He defeated Noel Hull by a vote of 2,002 to 1,124, according to results from the two counties.

Election results in Leavenworth County will remain unofficial until they are reviewed next week by county commissioners. Commissioners will review the election results Tuesday while acting as the Board of County Canvassers.

Twitter: @LVTNewsJohnR