The Leavenworth County Port Authority Board of Directors has elected new officers.

The election of the officers was necessary because a new board has been installed for the Port Authority.

The Port Authority, which is an economic development organization, was established in 1969. And the agreement between the County Commission and Leavenworth City Commission that established the Port Authority recently was updated.

The new agreement replaced the old five-member Port Authority board with a seven-member board.

Members of the old board were jointly appointed by the County Commission and Leavenworth City Commission.

Two of the members of the new Port Authority board are appointed by county commissioners. Two members of the board are appointed by the Leavenworth City Commission. And the cities of Lansing, Basehor and Tonganoxie each have appointed one member to the Port Authority board.

The new board met for the first time Wednesday. One board member, Douglas Schimke, was unable to participate in the meeting. Schimke was appointed to the board by the Leavenworth County Commission.

Because of restrictions related to COVID-19, the board meeting was conducted using an online videoconferencing service.

Leavenworth City Manager Paul Kramer, who participated in Wednesday’s meeting, said he believes the Port Authority now has a stronger and better board.

“I look forward to working with you,” he said.

Steve Jack initially led the meeting until a chairman was selected.

Jack is not a member of the Port Authority board, but he serves as the executive director of the Leavenworth County Development Corporation.

LCDC is a partner organization and provides staff for the Port Authority.

The board members elected Greg Kaaz to serve as their chairman. Kaaz, who was appointed to the board by the Leavenworth City Commission, abstained from the vote. But the other five commissioners who were participating in the meeting voted for him.

Members of the board selected Dan Gutshall, who was appointed by the Lansing City Council, to serve as the vice chairman. Gutshall abstained from the vote, but the other members voted in favor of him.

Chris Donnelly was selected to serve as treasurer. He abstained from the vote but the other members voted for him.

Donnelly was appointed to the Point Authority board by the Tonganoxie City Council. And he serves on the Tonganoxie City Council.

Kaaz said the Port Authority board will meet again May 27.

Twitter: @LVTNewsJohnR