The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics recently announced its spring scholar-athlete honors. Sixteen athletes from the University of Saint Mary earned the honor. 

The Daktronics NAIA Scholar-Athlete program recognizes junior and senior NAIA student-athletes with a 3.5 cumulative GPA or higher. The students must appear on the eligibility certificate for the sport and have attended two full years as a non-transfer or one full year as a transfer. These awards are given annually in the various sports.
USM athletes honored were:

Women’s track and field

Sophia Defeo, senior, Kansas City, Missouri Kaitlynn Ellis, junior, Sapulpa, Oklahoma Kaitlynn Tuey, senior, Great Bend, Kansas

Men’s track and field

Christian Graham, senior, Great Bend, Kansas Tony Weber, senior, Leavenworth Nick Thomas, junior, Dallas

Women’s lacrosse

Karissa Proctor, junior, Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Men’s lacrosse

Matt Waeckerle, junior, Baldwin, Missouri Billy Dineen, junior, Omaha Drew Coleman, junior, Pleasant Hill, Iowa


Cassidy Harbert, senior, Wichita, Kansas Alana Renshaw, senior Olathe, Kansas


Brody Meloy, junior, Staley, Missouri Mark Stimach, junior, Kansas City, Kansas Andrew Berry, senior, Mulvane, Kansas Easton Barnes, junior, Lawrence, Kansas