Nominating commission to interview applicants for judge

Staff Writer
The Leavenworth Times

Members of the 1st Judicial District Nominating Commission will interview nine applicants for a judge's position.

The nominating commission will convene Dec. 11 to interview the applicants to fill a district judge vacancy in Atchison County being created by Judge Robert Bednar's retirement, according to a news release from the state Office of Judicial Administration.

Bednar plans to retire Jan. 11.

The 1st Judicial District is composed of Atchison and Leavenworth counties and several of the applicants are from Leavenworth County.

The nominating commission will interview applicants and select from three to five people whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position.

To be eligible to serve in the position, a nominee must be at least 30 years old, admitted to practice law in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, and a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while serving in the office, according to the news release.

Members of the nominating commission will convene at 8:30 a.m. Dec. 11 at the Justice Center, 601 S. Third St. in Leavenworth. Interviews will begin at 9 a.m.

The applicants are Jonathan Haig Gregor, an attorney from Basehor, Douglas Max Tschauder, an attorney from Atchison, John Robert Kurth, attorney, an attorney from Atchison, Pamela Campbell Burton, an attorney from Leavenworth, John J. Bryant Jr., an attorney Kansas City, Kansas, Keyta Diane Kelly, an attorney from Tonganoxie, Andrew E. Werring, an attorney from Atchison, Amy Crawford, attorney from Salina, and Michael G. Jones, an attorney from Lansing.

The interviews are open to the public. Anyone who attends must follow public health requirements set out in a Kansas Supreme Court administrative order. These include answering questions at check-in about symptoms of or possible exposure to COVID-19, wearing a face mask while in the building and maintaining six feet of physical distance from others.

The members of the 1st Judicial District Nominating Commission are Kansas Supreme Court Justice Eric Rosen, who serves as the nonvoting chairman, Julia Clem and Rosemary Nies, both of Atchison, Todd Thompson, Basehor, G. Ronald Bates Jr., Mark Preisinger and Kevin Reardon, all from Leavenworth, and Lois Meadows and Geoffrey Sonntag, both of Tonganoxie.