Incumbent, mayor win commission primary races

John Richmeier
Mike Smith

An incumbent commissioner and the Lansing mayor won Republican primary races for Leavenworth County Commission seats.

Mike Smith, who currently serves as the mayor of Lansing, won Tuesday’s primary race for the County Commission’s 4th District seat.

Incumbent Commissioner Mike Stieben won the primary race for the County Commission’s 5th District seat.

And because no Democrats filed as candidates for these seats, Smith and Stieben likely will be elected to the positions in the November general election.

In the Republican battle for the 4th District seat, Smith received 740 votes. Tom Dials received 605 votes and Steve Rotkoff received 170 votes, according to unofficial results released by the County Clerk’s Office.

Rotkoff had dropped out of the race but his name still appeared on the ballot for the primary election.

The election results will remain unofficial until they are certified next week.

The 4th District encompasses the city of Lansing, a section of southeast Leavenworth and Delaware Township.

The district currently is represented by Commissioner Chad Schimke, who did not seek re-election this year.

“There’s some things I would like to see us get going on,” Smith said.

He said one of the issues he wants to focus on as a commissioner is economic growth.

The 5th District encompasses the cities of Tonganoxie and Linwood and Tonganoxie, Reno and Sherman townships.

In the Republican race for the 5th District, Stieben received 1,553 votes and challenger Curtis Oroke received 469 votes, according to unofficial results released by the County Clerk’s Office.

Stieben said he appreciated that there was no nastiness in the primary campaign. Stieben said he and Oroke stuck to the issues.

"It was a good, clean campaign," he said.

The 4th and 5th Districts were created after voters approved an expansion of the County Commission in 2018.

For now, candidates for the 4th and 5th Districts are running for only two-year terms. But these district seats eventually will be on a four-year election cycle.

Twitter: @LVTNewsJohnR

Mike Stieben